[Buildroot] Buildroot 2018.11-rc1 released

Peter Korsgaard peter at korsgaard.com
Fri Nov 9 23:09:20 UTC 2018


Buildroot 2018.11-rc1 is released - Go download it at:




Or get it from Git:


Please give it a spin and report any problems to the mailing list or
bug tracker.

Again a fairly busy cycle with 1237 changes and 100 unique
contributors. Thanks to everyone contributing!

Of noteworthy new features/changes we have:

- Architecture: RISC-V support (64bit) added.

- Toolchain: Glibc bumped to 2.28. Fortran support for external
  toolchains. ARM (Linaro) toolchains updated to 8.2-2018.08.

- Hardening flags (RELRO) are now handled by the toolchain wrapper
  instead of explicitly through CFLAGS/LDFLAGS, fixing a number of

- Filesystems: Support for creating btrfs and f2fs filesystems added.

- Add a number of patches to fix build errors for host utilities on
  modern distributions using glibc-2.28.

- Workaround added for incompatibility issues between host-dtc and older
  U-Boot and Linux kernel versions.

- utils/diffconfig: Make it work for (non-Buildroot) config files not
  using the BR2_ prefix.

- New defconfigs: Amarula a64-relic, Bananapi m2 ultra, Embest
  riotboard, Hardkernel Odroid XU-4, QEMU
  riscv64-virt. olimex_a20_olinuxion_lime_mali is renamed to _legacy.

- Basic OpenCL infrastructure support added, similar to how OpenGL is

- Linux-headers: Support for kernel headers from a custom tarball / git
  repo added.

New packages: bird, bluez5_utils-headers, btrfs-progs, checksec, davici,
duktape, ell, haproxy, libclc, libcorrect, libopencl, libopenresolv,
nss-myhostname, perl-apache-logformat-compiler, perl-appconfig,
perl-astro-suntime, perl-class-inspector, perl-class-load,
perl-class-method-modifiers, perl-class-std, perl-class-std-fast,
perl-cookie-baker, perl-data-dump, perl-data-optlist, perl-data-uuid,
perl-data-manip, perl-dbd-mysql, perl-dbi, perl-devel-globaldestruction,
perl-devel-stacktrace, perl-devel-stacktrace-ashtml,
perl-device-serialport, perl-dist-checkconflicts, perl-exporter-tiny,
perl-file-sharedir, perl-file-slurp, perl-filesys-notify-simple,
perl-hash-multivalue, perl-http-entity-parser, perl-http-headers-fast,
perl-http-multipartparser, perl-io-interface, perl-io-socket-multicast,
perl-json-maybexs, perl-mime-tools, perl-module-implementation,
perl-module-runtime, perl-moo, perl-number-bytes-human,
perl-package-stash, perl-params-util, perl-plack,
perl-posix-strftime-compiler, perl-role-tiny, perl-streams-buffered,
perl-sub-exporter-progressive, perl-sub-install, perl-sub-quote,
perl-sys-cpu, perl-sys-meminfo, perl-sys-mmap, perl-time-parsedate,
perl-type-tiny, perl-www-form-urlencoded, perl-x10, pigpio,
python-async-timeout, python-falcon, python-fire, python-mimeparse,
python-multidict, python-passlib, python-pigpio, python-pip, python-ply,
python-py, python-pyasn1, python-pyasn1-modules, python-pycryptodomex,
python-pyhamcrest, python-pysmi, python-scapy, python-semver,
python-serial-asyncio, python-typing, python-uvloop, pythonwrapt,
python-yarl, python-zeroconf, riscv-pk, sedutil, spandsp, tini, waffle,

Removed packages: bootutils, dsp-tools, expedite, gst-dsp, xloader

And the usual package version updates and bug fixes. See the CHANGES
file for details:


Many thanks to the people contributing to this release:

git shortlog -s -n 2018.08..

   187	Bernd Kuhls
   173	Fabrice Fontaine
   117	Asaf Kahlon
   102	Thomas Petazzoni
    74	Francois Perrad
    60	Peter Korsgaard
    57	Peter Seiderer
    44	Baruch Siach
    34	Christopher McCrory
    29	Matt Weber
    27	Yann E. MORIN
    26	Giulio Benetti
    23	Romain Naour
    18	Grzegorz Blach
    14	Yegor Yefremov
    11	Angelo Compagnucci
    11	Jörg Krause
     9	Adrian Perez de Castro
     9	Carlos Santos
     9	Petr Vorel
     8	Adam Duskett
     8	Christian Stewart
     8	Fabio Estevam
     8	Mark Corbin
     7	Alexey Brodkin
     7	Eric Le Bihan
     7	Gilles Talis
     7	Ricardo Martincoski
     6	Ferdinand van Aartsen
     6	Marcin Niestroj
     5	Gary Bisson
     5	James Hilliard
     4	Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind)
     4	Jagan Teki
     4	Joseph Kogut
     4	Lothar Felten
     4	Marcel Patzlaff
     4	Martin Bark
     4	Valentin Korenblit
     3	Brad Love
     3	Danomi Manchego
     3	Erico Nunes
     3	Jared Bents
     3	Joel Carlson
     3	Joel Stanley
     3	Luca Ceresoli
     3	Olivier Schonken
     3	Paresh Chaudhary
     2	Artyom Panfilov
     2	David Pierret
     2	Florian La Roche
     2	Frank Hunleth
     2	Gustavo Pimentel
     2	Marcus Folkesson
     2	Michal Sojka
     2	Nikolay Dimitrov
     2	Robert J. Heywood
     2	Sam Voss
     2	Stefan Sørensen
     2	Trent Piepho
     2	Vincent Prince
     2	Zoltan Gyarmati
     1	Adrien Gallouët
     1	Alexander 'z33ky' Hirsch
     1	André Hentschel
     1	Andy Shevchenko
     1	Antoine Tenart
     1	Bartosz Golaszewski
     1	Benjamin Calderon
     1	Chris Packham
     1	Dan Riegsecker
     1	Daniel Fahlgren
     1	David Lechner
     1	Evgeniy Didin
     1	Floris Bos
     1	Francois Beerten
     1	Francois Gerin
     1	Geert Visser
     1	Grégoire Delattre
     1	Gwenhael Goavec-Merou
     1	Johan Oudinet
     1	Joshua Henderson
     1	Laurent Cans
     1	Martin Kepplinger
     1	Matt Flax
     1	Max Filippov
     1	Mirza Krak
     1	Nicolas Cavallari
     1	Petr Kulhavy
     1	Philipp Wagner
     1	Pierre CROKAERT
     1	Pieterjan Camerlynck
     1	Ryan Coe
     1	Sergio Prado
     1	Serj Kalichev
     1	Sumit Garg
     1	Sébastien Szymanski
     1	Titouan Christophe
     1	Tobias Klauser
     1	William Wennerström

And a special thanks to our patch reviewers:

git log 2018.08.. | grep -Ei '(reviewed|acked)-by:' | \
    sed 's/.*by: //' | sort | uniq -c | sort -n -r

     45 Yegor Yefremov <yegorslists at googlemail.com>
     32 Francois Perrad <francois.perrad at gadz.org>
     21 "Yann E. MORIN" <yann.morin.1998 at free.fr>
      8 Matt Weber <matthew.weber at rockwellcollins.com>
      7 Luca Ceresoli <luca at lucaceresoli.net>
      5 Romain Naour <romain.naour at gmail.com>
      5 Petr Vorel <petr.vorel at gmail.com>
      5 Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind) <arnout at mind.be>
      4 Asaf Kahlon <asafka7 at gmail.com>
      3 Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni at bootlin.com>
      3 Romain Naour <romain.naour at smile.fr>
      3 Ricardo Martincoski <ricardo.martincoski at gmail.com>
      1 Valentin Korenblit<valentinkorenblit at gmail.com>
      1 Titouan Christophe <titouan.christophe at railnova.eu>
      1 Stefan Becker <chemobejk at gmail.com>
      1 "Robert J. Heywood" <robert.heywood at codethink.co.uk>
      1 Pieterjan Camerlynck <pieterjan.camerlynck at gmail.com>
      1 Peter Seiderer <ps.report at gmx.net>
      1 Matt Weber <matthew.weber at rockwellcollins.com>
      1 Kurt Van Dijck <dev.kurt at vandijck-laurijssen.be>
      1 Jagan Teki <jagan at amarulasolutions.com>
      1 Gary Bisson <gary.bisson at boundarydevices.com>
      1 Ferdinand van Aartsen <ferdinand at ombud.nl>
      1 Fabrice Fontaine <fontaine.fabrice at gmail.com>
      1  Fabio Estevam <festevam at gmail.com>
      1 Erico Nunes <nunes.erico at gmail.com>
      1 Eric Le Bihan <eric.le.bihan.dev at free.fr>
      1 Anisse Astier <anisse at astier.eu>
      1 Adrian Perez de Castro <aperez at igalia.com>

We had a very nice Developers' days in Edinburgh, just before the
Embedded Linux Conference Europe. Many thanks to our sponsors!


Like usual, I will now create a next branch and start merging in new
features, rather than wait until 2018.11 is released.

Bye, Peter Korsgaard

More information about the buildroot mailing list