[Buildroot] Buildroot 2016.02-rc1 released

Peter Korsgaard peter at korsgaard.com
Wed Feb 10 07:25:24 UTC 2016


Buildroot 2016.02-rc1 is released - Go download it at:




Or get it from Git:


Please give it a spin and report any problems to the mailing list or
bug tracker.

This was another fairly big development cycle with almost 1300 changes
all over the tree and close to 100 unique contributors! I'm very happy
to see so many "new" people next to the "oldtimers".

Of noteworthy new features/changes we have:

- Toolchain: Support for GCC 5.3.x. ARC toolchain updated to
  Support for legacy uClibc dropped, default to uClibc-ng instead.
  Added sys/queue.h implementation for MUSL for compatibility.
  Updated versions of Code sourcery and Linaro toolchains.
  MIPS Codescape toolchains added. Version selection for preconfigured
  external toolchains removed.

- New Defconfigs: ARM Juno r0/r1 development boards, Freescale i.MX6UL
  Evaluation Kit, Intel Galileo Gen 2, Orange Pi PC.
  A number of defconfigs have been extended to generate complete system
  images using genimage.

- Makedevs utility now accepts textual (non-numerical) user and group

- Vagrant file to easily setup a working development environment
  in a VM has been added.

- Size-stats-compare script to compare rootfs sizes between builds has
  been added.

And the usual package version updates and bug fixes. See the CHANGES
file for details:


Many thanks to the people contributing to this release:

git shortlog -s -n 2015.11..

   298	Gustavo Zacarias
   220	Bernd Kuhls
   115	Thomas Petazzoni
    71	Romain Naour
    71	Yann E. MORIN
    54	Vicente Olivert Riera
    49	Yegor Yefremov
    45	Peter Korsgaard
    32	Jörg Krause
    15	Arnout Vandecappelle
    15	Gary Bisson
    14	Sergio Prado
    13	Jerzy Grzegorek
    13	Samuel Martin
    13	Thomas De Schampheleire
    12	Francois Perrad
    12	Joris Lijssens
    12	Peter Seiderer
    12	Waldemar Brodkorb
    10	Martin Bark
     8	André Hentschel
     8	Angelo Compagnucci
     8	Rodrigo Rebello
     7	Benoît Thébaudeau
     6	Erico Nunes
     6	James Knight
     6	Lada Trimasova
     6	Mauro Condarelli
     5	Alex Suykov
     5	Luca Ceresoli
     4	Baruch Siach
     4	Chris Packham
     4	Doug Kehn
     4	John Keeping
     4	Jérôme Pouiller
     4	Pieterjan Camerlynck
     4	Ricardo Martincoski
     4	Sam bobroff
     4	Volkov Viacheslav
     3	Alexey Brodkin
     3	Davide Viti
     3	Eelco Chaudron
     3	Fabio Porcedda
     3	Jonathan Ben Avraham
     3	Noé Rubinstein
     3	Philippe Proulx
     3	Ryan Barnett
     2	Carlos Santos
     2	Ezequiel García
     2	Joao Pinto
     2	Olivier Schonken
     2	Peter Rosin
     2	Petr Vorel
     2	Phil Eichinger
     2	Ray Kinsella
     2	Renaud AUBIN
     2	Trent Piepho
     2	Vincent Dehors
     1	Abhishek Singh
     1	Alexandre Belloni
     1	Andreas Ehmanns
     1	Andrew Donnellan
     1	Ariel D'Alessandro
     1	Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind)
     1	Cam Hutchison
     1	Christophe Vu-Brugier
     1	Danomi Manchego
     1	David du Colombier
     1	Henrique Marks
     1	Hollis Blanchard
     1	Ignacy Gawędzki
     1	Jan Heylen
     1	Jan Sarenik
     1	Joao Mano
     1	Johan Oudinet
     1	Johan Sagaert
     1	Juha Rantanen
     1	Julien BOIBESSOT
     1	Julien CORJON
     1	Julien Floret
     1	Marc Gonzalez
     1	Matt Weber
     1	Max Filippov
     1	Maxime Hadjinlian
     1	Michael Schenk
     1	Nathan Ford
     1	Nicolas Cavallari
     1	Nikolay Dimitrov
     1	Sergi Granell
     1	Steven Noonan
     1	Stewart Smith
     1	Sébastien Szymanski
     1	Thomas Claveirole
     1	Tom Rini
     1	Vicente Bergas
     1	Vivien Didelot
     1	lothar felten

And a special thanks to our patch reviewers:

git log 2015.11.. | grep -Ei '(reviewed|acked)-by:' | \
    sed 's/.*by: //' | sort | uniq -c | sort -n -r

     86 "Yann E. MORIN" <yann.morin.1998 at free.fr>
     41 Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind) <arnout at mind.be>
     24 Vicente Olivert Riera <Vincent.Riera at imgtec.com>
     10 Gustavo Zacarias <gustavo at zacarias.com.ar>
      7 Romain Naour <romain.naour at gmail.com>
      6 Yegor Yefremov <yegorslists at googlemail.com>
      6 Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni at free-electrons.com>
      2 "Maxime Hadjinlian" <maxime.hadjinlian at gmail.com>
      2 Luca Ceresoli <luca at lucaceresoli.net>
      2 Jerzy Grzegorek <jerzy.grzegorek at trzebnica.net>
      2 Bernd Kuhls <bernd.kuhls at t-online.de>
      1 "Yann E. MORIN" <yann.morin.1998 at free.fr>
      1 Thomas De Schampheleire <thomas.de.schampheleire at gmail.com>
      1 Samuel Martin <s.martin49 at gmail.com>
      1 Romain Naour <romain.naour at openwide.fr>
      1 Rahul Bedarkar <rahul.bedarkar at imgtec.com>
      1 Piotr Nakraszewicz <piotr.nakraszewicz at imgtec.com>
      1 Nikolay Dimitrov <picmaster at mail.bg>
      1  "Maxime Hadjinlian" <maxime.hadjinlian at gmail.com>
      1 Marcin Nowakowski <marcin.nowakowski at imgtec.com>
      1 Jérôme Pouiller <jezz at sysmic.org>
      1 James Knight <james.knight at rockwellcollins.com>
      1 Gary Bisson <gary.bisson at boundarydevices.com>
      1 Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni at free-electrons.com>
      1 Alexander Dahl <post at lespocky.de>

Like usual, I will now create a next branch and start merging in new
features, rather than wait until 2016.02 is released.

Bye, Peter Korsgaard

More information about the buildroot mailing list