[Buildroot] Buildroot 2020.08 released

Peter Korsgaard peter at korsgaard.com
Tue Sep 1 21:03:46 UTC 2020


Hi,

Buildroot 2020.08 is released - Go download it at:

http://buildroot.net/downloads/buildroot-2020.08.tar.gz

or

http://buildroot.net/downloads/buildroot-2020.08.tar.bz2

Or get it from Git:

git://git.buildroot.net/buildroot

Please give it a spin and report any problems to the mailing list or
bug tracker.

This was another fairly big development cycle with more than 1200
changes all over the tree and 129 unique contributors! I'm once again
very happy to see so many "new" people next to the "oldtimers".

Of noteworthy new features/changes we have:

 - Toolchain:

   - GCC 10.x added, GCC 9.x is the default
   - binutils 2.34 added, binutils 2.33 is the default, binutils 2.31
     removed
   - glibc updated to 2.31
   - ARC toolchain components updated to 2020.03-release.

 - Infrastructure:

   - qmake-package was fixed to be compatible with
     BR2_PER_PACKAGE_DIRECTORIES

 - Misc: cargo and cargo-bin packages removed, as cargo is now part
   of Rust itself

 - New packages: bitwise, earlyoom, fuse-overlayfs, gloox,
   kodi-pvr-octonet, kodi-pvr-zattoo, libabseil-cpp, libcutl, libnids,
   libnpupnp, libodb, libodb-boost, libodb-mysql, libodb-pgsql, mbpfan,
   netopeer2, odb, parprouted, python-colorzero, python-gpiozero,
   python-pybind, python-yatl, python3-cython, python3-decorator,
   python3-pycryptodomex, qt5quicktimeline, resiprocate, ttyd,
   unclutter-xfixes, urandom-scripts

 - Removed packages: cargo, cargo-bin, kodi-peripheral-steamcontroller

 - New defconfigs: bananapi_m2_zero, freescale_imx8mnevk,
   globalscale_espressobin, imx6ullevk, microchip_sama5d27_wlsom1_ek,
   rock_pi_4, rock_pi_n10

And the usual package version updates and bug fixes. See the CHANGES
file for details:

http://git.buildroot.net/buildroot/plain/CHANGES?id=2020.08

Many thanks to the people contributing to this release:

git shortlog -s -n 2020.05..

   296	Fabrice Fontaine
   104	Bernd Kuhls
    69	Thomas Petazzoni
    56	Romain Naour
    51	Peter Korsgaard
    45	Adam Duskett
    39	Peter Seiderer
    38	Francois Perrad
    35	James Hilliard
    30	Norbert Lange
    29	Yann E. MORIN
    27	Sergio Prado
    24	Heiko Thiery
    19	Pierre-Jean Texier
    17	Lubomir Rintel
    16	Baruch Siach
    15	Angelo Compagnucci
    15	Antoine Tenart
    13	Asaf Kahlon
    12	Titouan Christophe
    11	Stephane Viau
    10	Giulio Benetti
    10	Gwenhael Goavec-Merou
     9	Christian Stewart
     9	Joris Offouga
     9	Julien Olivain
     8	Grzegorz Blach
     8	Petr Vorel
     7	Bartosz Bilas
     7	Eric Le Bihan
     7	Matt Weber
     6	Gary Bisson
     6	Guillaume W. Bres
     6	Paul Cercueil
     6	Yegor Yefremov
     5	Adrian Perez de Castro
     5	Etienne Carriere
     5	Joseph Kogut
     5	Jörg Krause
     5	Stefan Sørensen
     4	Aleksander Morgado
     4	Danomi Manchego
     4	Dick Olsson
     4	Fabio Estevam
     4	Jared Bents
     4	Kamel Bouhara
     4	Maeva Manuel
     4	Mark Corbin
     3	Brandon Maier
     3	Gilles Talis
     3	Michael Nosthoff
     3	Nicolas Robin
     3	Yair Ben-Avraham
     2	Alejandro González
     2	Chris Packham
     2	Eugen Hristev
     2	Evgeniy Didin
     2	Frank Hunleth
     2	Gonçalo Salazar
     2	Iulian Onofrei
     2	Joachim Nilsson
     2	John Keeping
     2	Martin Bark
     2	Michael Fischer
     2	Michael Walle
     2	Nicola Di Lieto
     2	Patrick Havelange
     2	Ryan Barnett
     2	Sam Voss
     2	Sergey Matyukevich
     2	Suniel Mahesh
     2	Sébastien Szymanski
     2	Thomas De Schampheleire
     2	Vincent Fazio
     1	Aaron Sierra
     1	Alexander Dahl
     1	Alexandre Belloni
     1	Andreas Naumann
     1	André Hentschel
     1	Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind)
     1	Ash Charles
     1	Christoph Muellner
     1	Christoph Müllner
     1	Christopher Pelloux
     1	Ed Spiridonov
     1	Eloi Bail
     1	Ezequiel Garcia
     1	Felix Vollmer
     1	Frank Vanbever
     1	Gao Xiang
     1	Gregory CLEMENT
     1	Ignacy Gawędzki
     1	Ismael Luceno
     1	Jan Kiszka
     1	Jianhui Zhao
     1	Joel Stanley
     1	Jugurtha BELKALEM
     1	Julien Grossholtz
     1	Luca Ceresoli
     1	Lukasz Tekieli
     1	Lyle Franklin
     1	Mario Mintel
     1	Martin Elshuber
     1	Martin Kepplinger
     1	Masahiro Yamada
     1	Maxim Cournoyer
     1	Maxim Kochetkov
     1	Michael Durrant
     1	Michael Trimarchi
     1	Michael Vetter
     1	Mylène Josserand
     1	Nicolas Cavallari
     1	Nicolas Dufresne
     1	Nicolas Serafini
     1	Owen Walpole
     1	Pieterjan Camerlynck
     1	Ramon Fried
     1	Robert Hancock
     1	Santosh Multhalli
     1	Stefan Ott
     1	Stéphane Veyret
     1	Thomas Ruschival
     1	Tian Yuanhao
     1	Tom Marcuzzi
     1	Urja Rannikko
     1	Vincent Stehlé
     1	Yann Sionneau
     1	Yi Zheng
     1	Yurii Monakov

And a special thanks to our patch reviewers (we would need more!):

git log 2020.05.. | grep -Ei '(reviewed|acked)-by:' | \
    sed 's/.*by: //' | sort | uniq -c | sort -n -r

      7 Titouan Christophe <titouan.christophe at railnova.eu>
      7 David Pierret <david.pierret at smile.fr>
      6 Romain Naour <romain.naour at gmail.com>
      5 Gary Bisson <gary.bisson at boundarydevices.com>
      4 Maeva Manuel <maeva.manuel at oss.nxp.com>
      4 Julien Olivain <julien.olivain at oss.nxp.com>
      4 Asaf Kahlon <asafka7 at gmail.com>
      3 Yann E. MORIN <yann.morin.1998 at free.fr>
      3 Petr Vorel <petr.vorel at gmail.com>
      3 Luca Ceresoli <luca at lucaceresoli.net>
      3 Jérémy Rosen <jeremy.rosen at smile.fr>
      3 Alexander Dahl <post at lespocky.de>
      2 Stephan Hoffmann <sho at relinux.de>
      2 Matthew Weber <matthew.weber at rockwellcollins.com>
      1 Yegor Yefremov <yegorslists at googlemail.com>
      1 Vincent Fazio <vfazio at gmail.com>
      1 Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni at bootlin.com>
      1 Peter Seiderer <ps.report at gmx.net>
      1 Marcin Niestroj <m.niestroj at grinn-global.com>
      1 Kieran Bingham <kieran.bingham at ideasonboard.com>
      1 Jérémy ROSEN <jeremy.rosen at smile.fr>
      1 Etienne Carriere <etienne.carriere at linaro.org>
      1 Christian Stewart <christian at paral.in>
      1 Arnout Vandecappelle (Essensium/Mind) <arnout at mind.be>
      1 Alistair Francis <alistair.francis at wdc.com>

The next release will be 2020.11. Expect the first release candidate at
the beginning of November and the final release at the end of the month.

This release will be supported with security and other important fixes
until 2020.11 is out. If you need longer support then consider using our
long term support release (2020.02.x) instead which will be supported
until March 2021.

-- 
Bye, Peter Korsgaard


More information about the buildroot mailing list